The Beginner's Guide to Vedic Astrology

Chapter 6: Interpretation of planets in signs and houses

Vedic Birth Chart

Interpreting planets in signs and houses in Vedic astrology is a nuanced art, requiring knowledge of both planetary influences and the specific context provided by the house placement. Here’s a breakdown of their combined meaning:

Planets: Each planet embodies unique energies and significations:

  • Sun: Self, ego, vitality, purpose.
  • Moon: Mind, emotions, intuition, receptivity.
  • Mars: Action, aggression, courage, assertiveness.
  • Mercury: Communication, intellect, learning, adaptability.
  • Venus: Love, beauty, relationships, pleasure, harmony.
  • Jupiter: Expansion, fortune, optimism, spirituality.
  • Saturn: Responsibility, discipline, limitations, structure.
  • Rahu: Illusion, desires, ambition, unexpected events.
  • Ketu: Liberation, detachment, spirituality, hidden talents.

Signs: The twelve zodiac signs represent archetypal qualities and influence personality traits:

  • Fire Signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius): Energetic, passionate, independent.
  • Earth Signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn): Practical, grounded, ambitious.
  • Air Signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius): Intellectual, communicative, social.
  • Water Signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces): Emotional, intuitive, imaginative.

Houses: The twelve houses represent different areas of life and provide context for planetary influences:

  • 1st House: Self, identity, physical appearance.
  • 2nd House: Finances, material possessions, values.
  • 3rd House: Communication, siblings, short journeys.
  • 4th House: Family, home, emotions, roots.
  • 5th House: Creativity, children, romance, speculation.
  • 6th House: Health, work, service, daily routine.
  • 7th House: Relationships, partnerships, legal matters.
  • 8th House: Transformation, death, sex, secrets.
  • 9th House: Luck, long journeys, education, philosophy.
  • 10th House: Career, fame, ambition, public image.
  • 11th House: Friendships, hopes, desires, organizations.
  • 12th House: Loss, secrets, intuition, spirituality.

Combined Interpretation:

  • Planet in Sign: This tells you how the planet’s energy manifests within the specific qualities of the sign. For example, Mars in Aries emphasizes impulsiveness and direct action, while Mars in Libra focuses on diplomacy and negotiation.
  • Planet in House: This reveals how the planet’s influence plays out in a specific area of life. For example, Jupiter in the 2nd house suggests financial prosperity, while Jupiter in the 7th house indicates harmonious partnerships.


  • Interpretation is always contextual and unique to each individual chart.
  • Aspects between planets and the strength of placements add further complexity.
  • Consulting a qualified Vedic astrologer is recommended for a personalized and accurate reading.

Here are some examples of interpretations:

  • Sun in Gemini in the 10th house: This person might be a skilled communicator with a knack for public speaking, excelling in careers that require adaptability and intellectual prowess.
  • Venus in Taurus in the 5th house: This individual could have a strong appreciation for beauty and creativity, enjoying romantic relationships and expressing their affection through artistic pursuits.
  • Saturn in Capricorn in the 8th house: This person might face challenges related to transformation and letting go, but can develop immense discipline and resilience while navigating personal or professional difficulties.