The Beginner's Guide to Vedic Astrology

Chapter 1: Introduction

Vedic astrology, also known as Jyotish, is an ancient system of astrology that originated in India. It is one of the oldest continuous scientific traditions in the world, dating back to the Vedic period. Vedic astrology is based on the sidereal zodiac, which is a fixed zodiac that uses the stars as the backdrop for the planets.

Vedic astrology is based on the belief that the positions of the planets and stars at the time of a person’s birth have a significant influence on their life. It also considers the nakshatras, which are divisions of the zodiac that are associated with different characteristics and energies. This influence is believed to be exerted through the karmic principle, which states that every action has a reaction. According to Vedic astrology, a person’s karma is determined by their actions in their past lives. The positions of the planets and stars at the time of a person’s birth are believed to be a reflection of their karma.

Here are some of the key concepts of Vedic astrology:

  • Karma: Vedic astrology is based on the Hindu concept of karma, which is the belief that every action has a reaction. This means that a person’s present life is determined by their past actions.
  • Dharma: Vedic astrology also emphasizes the concept of dharma, which is a person’s duty or right conduct. According to Vedic astrology, a person’s goal in life is to fulfill their dharma.
  • Planetary influences: Vedic astrology believes that the planets have a significant influence on human life. Each planet is associated with different characteristics and energies, and the positions of the planets at birth can determine a person’s personality, strengths, weaknesses, and potential.
  • Nakshatras: The nakshatras are divisions of the zodiac that are associated with different characteristics and energies. Vedic astrology uses the nakshatras to understand a person’s karma, dharma, and potential.

Vedic astrology is a complex and sophisticated system that can be used to gain a deeper understanding of oneself and one’s place in the universe. It is a valuable tool for self-discovery and personal growth.

Vedic astrology can be used for a variety of purposes, including:

  • Understanding one’s personality and potential
  • Make predictions about a person’s future
  • Making decisions about career, relationships, and other important life events
  • Interpreting astrological signs and symbols
  • Finding remedies for challenging planetary influences


Astrology: Effect of planets and stars

In Indian astrology, also known as Vedic astrology, the planets hold immense significance, each influencing different aspects of human life and encompassing various characteristics and energies. These celestial bodies, along with their movements and positions in the zodiac, play a crucial role in shaping both individual destinies and broader cosmic patterns.

The nine celestial bodies considered planets in Vedic astrology are:

  1. Surya (Sun): The Sun represents the soul, the king, and the father figure. It symbolizes authority, ego, and vitality. Its placement in the horoscope indicates one’s self-expression, sense of purpose, and ability to shine in life.
  2. Chandra (Moon): The Moon represents the mind, emotions, and the mother figure. It governs moods, sensitivity, and nurturing instincts. Its position reveals our inner world, sensitivity, and ability to connect with others.
  3. Mangala (Mars): Mars represents energy, courage, assertiveness, and the warrior spirit. It signifies action, drive, and passion. Its placement in the horoscope indicates our physical energy, courage, and ability to take initiative.
  4. Budha (Mercury): Mercury represents intellect, communication, and adaptability. It governs intelligence, speech, and wit. Its placement in the horoscope indicates our communication style, curiosity, and ability to process information
  5. Brihaspati (Jupiter): Jupiter represents wisdom, knowledge, and the guru figure. It signifies expansion, growth, and benevolence. Its position reveals our sense of optimism, generosity, and ability to attract abundance.
  6. Shukra (Venus): Venus represents love, beauty, and pleasure. It governs romance, creativity, and financial abundance. Its position reveals our romantic inclinations, artistic sense, and ability to form harmonious connections.
  7. Shani (Saturn): Saturn represents discipline, limitations, and the teacher figure. It signifies karma, patience, and responsibility. Its placement in the horoscope indicates our sense of duty, perseverance, and ability to learn from life’s lessons.
  8. Rahu (North Node of the Moon): Rahu represents ambition, materialism, and sudden changes. It governs desires, obsessions, and unexpected events.
  9. Ketu (South Node of the Moon): Ketu represents spirituality, detachment, and past-life karma. It signifies spiritual pursuits, intuition, and liberation.

Rahu and Ketu, the shadow planets, represent karmic knots and unresolved issues from past lives. Their positions indicate areas where we need to learn and grow, and they can bring about unexpected transformations.

The positions of these planets in the twelve zodiac signs and twenty-seven lunar mansions (nakshatras) in the birth chart form the basis for interpreting an individual’s life path and potential. Vedic astrologers use this intricate system to provide insights into an individual’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges, guiding them towards a more harmonious and fulfilling life.

Zodiac Signs

Astrology - Zodiac Signs

The Vedic astrological rashis, also known as zodiac signs, are the twelve divisions of the zodiac that form the basis of Vedic astrology. Each rashi is associated with a specific constellation and has its own unique characteristics, energies, and influences.

RashiSymbolRuling PlanetElement
Mesha (Aries)♈️MarsFire
Vrishabha (Taurus)♉️VenusEarth
Mithuna (Gemini)♊️MercuryAir
Karka (Cancer)♋️MoonWater
Simha (Leo)♌️SunFire
Kanya (Virgo)♍️MercuryEarth
Tula (Libra)♎️VenusAir
Vrischika (Scorpio)♏️MarsWater
Dhanus (Sagittarius)♐️JupiterFire
Makara (Capricorn)♑️SaturnEarth
Kumbha (Aquarius)♒️UranusAir
Meena (Pisces)♓️NeptuneWater